?

Wir bieten globalen Versand an. Versandkosten

Suchen

Suche aus unseren Kollektionen

Alles an seiner Stelle

Mifukos wundervolle Körbe helfen Ihnen dabei, Ihr Zuhause zu organisieren und den richtigen Ort für alles zu finden, von kleinen Spielzeugen bis zu Kissen.

100 % handgefertigt

Wir glauben, dass eine glücklichere Zukunft von Hand gemacht wird.

FAIRER HANDEL

Wir haben uns verpflichtet, Menschen und Planeten in alles zu bringen, was wir tun.

Schöne Ornamente

Mifukos Ornamente wurden aus gefallenen Jacaranda -Ästen mit Handgeschneide versehen.

Schals in limitierter Auflage

In Äthiopien wurden in Äthiopien in einem fairen Handelsworkshop handgewebt.

Mifuko -Geschichten

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Arbeit in Kenia.

Mifuko ist stolzes Mitglied der World Fair Trade Organization (WFTO), der hoch angesehenen globalen Gemeinschaft sozialer Unternehmen, die fairen Handel praktizieren. WFTO -Mitglieder müssen nachweisen, dass sie Menschen und den Planeten an erster Stelle setzen und sich an die Prinzipien der WFTO Fair Trade einhalten.

Die Idee von Mifuko entstand unter dem farbenfrohen Treiben in einem Markt in Nairobi, Kenia. Minna lebte damals in Kenia, und ihre enge Freundin Mari war zu Besuch. Sie hatten sich während des Studiums des Textildesigns an der Aalto Universität kennengelernt. Als sie auf dem Markt herumwanderten, waren sie von der Handwerkskunst der Handwerker, die ihre Waren verkauften, verblüfft. Kurz darauf im Jahr 2009 gründeten Minna und Mari Mifuko mit einem klaren Ziel: Nordisches Design und traditionelle afrikanische Handwerkskunst zu einem Geschäft zu verbinden, das den Menschen im ländlichen Kenia direkt zugute kommt.

Heute ist Mifuko ein erfolgreiches Fair-Trade-Unternehmen, und unsere Arbeit ist immer dringlicher. In Kenia hat der Klimawandel zu wiederkehrenden Dürren geführt, die die Landwirtschaft, traditionell die Haupteinnahmequelle und die sustenance, eine unzuverlässige Grundlage für einen stabilen Lebensunterhalt machen. Die Einkommen-Handwerker verdienen von Mifuko, um sicherzustellen, dass Familien gefüttert und gepflegt werden, wenn Kulturen nicht mehr Sicherheit bieten können.

Minna's Geschichte

Im Jahr 2008 lebte ich in Kenia mit meiner Familie, als Mari zu Besuch kam. Als wir die Märkte in Nairobi erkundeten, waren wir inspiriert von den handwerklichen Fähigkeiten der Handwerker. Wir hatten eine Idee, unsere Design-Fähigkeiten mit traditionellen Techniken in Kenia zu kombinieren, um nachhaltiges Design mit einem persönlichen Twist zu schaffen.

Ich bin dankbar, dass ich die Möglichkeit habe, langfristige Beziehungen zu den Handwerkern und ihren Selbsthilfegruppen aufzubauen. Für mich ist es wichtig, dass wir durch Mifuko auf eine nachhaltige Art und Weise schaffen und gestalten können, die positiv zur Welt beiträgt.

Maris Geschichte

Es war eine große Reise, seit Minna und ich Mifuko angefangen haben. 1996 trafen wir uns zum ersten Mal zusammen und studierten gemeinsam an der Universität für Kunst und Design Helsinki, heute Aalto University.

Die Arbeit mit Mifuko ist kreativ und macht Spaß! Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Ländern und Kulturen und natürlich eine soziale Auswirkung sind für mich sehr wichtig. Ich liebe es, ständig neue Designs mit Minna zu entwickeln und eng mit unseren talentierten Handwerkern zusammenzuarbeiten, um neue Materialien zu testen und neue Ideen zu finden. Materialien, Techniken und Kollaboration mit Produzenten und Designern sind meine Quelle der Inspiration.

Freude am Zusammenarbeiten

Das Treffen mit Kunsthandwerkern ist der lohnenswerteste Teil unserer Arbeit, der das Werk von Händen und Herzen sieht. Wenn wir Kenia besuchen, treffen wir uns mit den Handwerkern, um offen zu diskutieren, wo es uns gelungen ist und wo wir uns verbessern müssen. Wir geben den Handwerker auch das Feedback, das wir von unseren Kunden erhalten, die wirklich für sie belohnt werden. Wir ermutigen auch die Handwerker, uns über ihre Wünsche und die Herausforderungen, denen sie gegenüberstehen, zu erzählen, um unsere Zusammenarbeit zu verbessern.

Weitere Lesung

Unsere Geschichte

Arbeit von Händen und Herzen. Erfahren Sie mehr über Mifuko und wer wir sind, und wie wir Geschäfte machen, wo jeder gewinnt.

Mifuko Stories

In unserem Blog erzählen wir Ihnen mehr über unsere Arbeit in Kenia, Grüße von den Handwerkern, und fairen Handel.

Artisan Stories

Jedes Mifuko Produkt
trägt den Namen des Kunsthandwerkers, der es geschafft hat. Lernen Sie unsere kenianischen Kunsthandwerker kennen.

Fairer Handel

Mifuko ist ein stolzes Mitglied von WFTO und engagierte sich dafür, Menschen und Planeten zuerst in allem, was wir tun, zu stellen.

Hanna Anonen won the Young Finnish Designer award in 2021 and no wonder since she has designed fun and colourful products for multiple Finnish brands. Anonen designed Mifuko's Kandili candle holder series which has five stackable models. We interviewed her about her design process and collaboration with Mifuko.
  • 3 minimum gelesen
Uupi has been shooting Mifuko's images since 2011 and grown as a professional alongside us. We asked her to write about this experience from her own point of view.
  • 3 minimum gelesen
Christine, Florence, and Alice sat next to each other when all the weavers were gathered together. They started chatting and one thing led to the other, and now they are now practically inseparable.
  • 1 minimum gelesen

We offer global shipping. Shipping charges

Search

Search from our collections

EVERYTHING IN ITS PLACE

Mifuko's wonderful baskets help you organise your home and to find the right place for everything from small toys to pillows.

100 % HANDMADE

We believe that a happier future is made by hand.

FAIR TRADE

We have committed to putting people and planet first in everything we do. 

LOVELY ORNAMENTS

Mifuko's ornaments have been handcarved from fallen jacaranda tree branches.

LIMITED EDITION SCARVES

Skafu silk-cotton scarves have been handwoven in Ethiopia in a Fair Trade workshop.

MIFUKO STORIES

Learn more about our work in Kenya.

Mifuko is a proud member of World Fair Trade Organisation (WFTO), the highly regarded global community of social enterprises that practice Fair Trade. WFTO members must demonstrate they put people and the planet first, adhering to the WFTO Fair Trade Principles.

The idea of Mifuko was born amongst the colourful bustle of a market in Nairobi, Kenya. Minna lived in Kenya at the time, and her close friend Mari was visiting. They had become acquainted while studying textile design at Aalto University. As they wandered around the market they were amazed by the craftsmanship of the artisans selling their goods. Shortly thereafter in 2009, Minna and Mari founded Mifuko with a clear goal: combine Nordic design and traditional African handicraft skills to form a business that directly benefits the people of rural Kenya.

Today Mifuko is a successful Fair Trade company, and our work is ever more urgent. In Kenya, climate change has led to recurring droughts making farming, traditionally the primary source of income and sustenance, an unreliable foundation for a stable livelihood. The income artisans earn from Mifuko helps ensure families are fed and cared for when crops can no longer provide security.

Minna's story

In 2008 I was living in Kenya with my family when Mari came to visit. As we explored the markets in Nairobi, we were inspired by the handcraft skills of the artisans. We had an idea to combine our design skills with traditional techniques found in Kenya to create sustainable design with a personal twist.

I am grateful to have the possibility to build long-term relationships with the artisans and their self-help groups. For me, it is important that through Mifuko, we can create and design in a way that is sustainable and contributes positively to the world.

Mari's story

It’s been a great journey since Minna and I started Mifuko. We met for the first time in 1996 and studied together at what used to be called University of Art and Design Helsinki, now Aalto University.

Working with Mifuko is creative and fun! Our co-operation with different countries and cultures and of course, making a social impact are very important to me. I love continuously developing new designs with Minna and working closely with our talented artisans to test new materials and find new ideas. Materials, techniques and collaboration with producers and designers are my source of inspiration.

Joy of working together

Meeting with artisans is the most rewarding part of our work, seeing the work of hands and hearts. When we visit Kenya, we meet with the artisans to openly discuss where we have succeeded and where we need to improve. We also give the artisans the feedback we get from our customers which is truly rewarding for them. We also encourage artisans to tell us about their wishes and the challenges they face in order to improve our work together.

Further reading

Our story

Work of hands and hearts. Learn more about Mifuko and who we are, and how we do business where everyone wins.

Mifuko Stories

In our blog, we tell you more about our work in Kenya, greetings from the artisans, and fair trade.

Artisan Stories

Each Mifuko product
carries the name of the artisan who made it. Get to know our Kenyan artisans.

Fair trade

Mifuko is a proud member of WFTO and committed putting people and planet first in everything we do.

Hanna Anonen won the Young Finnish Designer award in 2021 and no wonder since she has designed fun and colourful products for multiple Finnish brands. Anonen designed Mifuko's Kandili candle holder series which has five stackable models. We interviewed her about her design process and collaboration with Mifuko.
  • 3 min read
Uupi has been shooting Mifuko's images since 2011 and grown as a professional alongside us. We asked her to write about this experience from her own point of view.
  • 3 min read
Christine, Florence, and Alice sat next to each other when all the weavers were gathered together. They started chatting and one thing led to the other, and now they are now practically inseparable.
  • 1 min read